Statute of Limitations

There is one factor that people considering a personal injury claim must keep in mind: the statute of limitations.

The statute of limitations on personal injury cases is two years in Oregon, except regarding minor children, for which there is an extension of 5 years or until they reach the age of 18.

That’s two years from the accident, which means that you must either settle your claim or file a lawsuit within two years of the date of your accident.

Daniel Hoarfrost will make sure that you receive excellent personalized legal service regardless of the issue that you are facing. Call him today to get started on your case at (503) 468-5036 

How Long Does a Case Take?

The actual duration of a claim depends on the extent of the injury and the duration of the medical treatment. Settlement negotiations usually begin only after the victim’s medical problems have been treated.

Oregon Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims

Other important numbers to know relating to personal injury claims in Oregon:

Statute of Limitations

Negligence                   Two years after injury
Medical Malpractice     Within two years of the injury, or reasonable discovery of the injury
Product Liability           Two years from the date of discovery
Wrongful Death            Three years after death

  • Product liability cases are limited. There is a $500,000 cap on noneconomic damages.
  • Pharmaceutical cases are also capped. There is a $500,000 limitation on noneconomic damages.
  • There is no statute of limitations in Oregon for the wrongful death of children under 18. Once a child turns 18, the adult statute of limitations kicks in.

Oregon personal injury law is complicated. To win your case you need an attorney who knows the law and understands your goals. In Portland, Oregon, that’s me — Daniel Hoarfrost.

Free Initial Consultation Get Help Now