Portland Lawyer Helps Those Hurt by Uninsured Drivers
Being in a serious accident is bad enough. Being in an accident where the other driver has no insurance is even worse. Without insurance, how can you pay for your medical bills and car damage?
It’s not an idle question. About one in five Oregon motorists are uninsured, and an even larger number are underinsured — unable to pay for any serious injury to others or damage to vehicles.
Hit by an Uninsured Driver? Call Oregon Auto Accident Lawyer Daniel Hoarfrost
In Oregon, the minimum required amount of liability insurance is only $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Serious accidents can easily exceed these minimums. People meeting these minimum insurance standards will not be able to reimburse others who are hurt due to their negligence.
There are solutions to the problem of uninsured and underinsured motorists. If you carry uninsured motorist coverage, your own insurance will reimburse you for your injury. This extra coverage is included in many Oregon drivers’ policies, and it covers injuries to anyone in your immediate family. The injury doesn’t even need to have occurred in your vehicle.
Should I File a Claim Against My insurance Company?
Some people wince at the idea of making a claim against their own insurance company. Won’t the insurer just turn around and raise your rates? It may comfort you to know that the insurance company is prevented by law from raising your rates because you have made a claim. The law requires your insurer to deal with you in “good faith and fair dealing.”
If the other party in an accident can’t pay for your injuries with his or her insurance, look into your own uninsured motorist coverage. You also have the option to add the uninsured motorist coverage for each vehicle you own — a process called stacking. As a personal injury lawyer, I encourage all motorists to spend the few extra dollars to obtain this coverage.